How to create probe labels at a node using ACT?

Rohith Patchigolla
Rohith Patchigolla Member, Moderator, Employee Posts: 86
First Answer First Anniversary Name Dropper Solution Developer Community of Practice Member
edited October 2023 in Structures

How to create probe labels at a node using ACT?

Tagged:

Best Answers

  • Rohith Patchigolla
    Rohith Patchigolla Member, Moderator, Employee Posts: 86
    First Answer First Anniversary Name Dropper Solution Developer Community of Practice Member
    Answer ✓
    nodeID = 1984
    analysis=ExtAPI.DataModel.AnalysisByName('Static Structural')
    resultObject=ExtAPI.DataModel.GetObjectsByName('Equivalent Stress')[0]
    probeLabel = Graphics.LabelManager.CreateProbeLabel(resultObject)
    probeLabel.Scoping.Node = nodeID 
    

    The above script creates a probe for Equivalent Stress result object in Mechanical at node 1984. This API is new in v2022R1

  • kanchan_cadfem
    kanchan_cadfem Member Posts: 17
    First Anniversary First Comment 5 Likes First Answer
    Answer ✓

    you can use the point cloud search from DPF to search for the nearest node

    point data is [42.,0.,-23.] in mm

    import mech_dpf  
    import Ans.DataProcessing as dpf 
    analysis = DataModel.AnalysisList[0] # mesh from result file
    DataSource = dpf.DataSources(analysis.ResultFileName) 
    
    # Get Mesh and displacement from specific time scoping 
    op = dpf.operators.mesh.mesh_provider() # operator instanciation 
    op.inputs.data_sources.Connect(DataSource) 
    # you can also provide the mesh_scoping in following line 
    
    my_mesh = op.outputs.mesh.GetData() 
    
    
    # point is [42.,0.,-23.], should be floats
    
    point_field=dpf.FieldsFactory.CreateVectorField(1,3,"Nodal")
    point_field.Add(1,[42.,0.,-23.])
    point_field.Unit = "mm"
    
    
    
    op = dpf.operators.mesh.point_cloud_search() # operator instantiation
    op.inputs.search_domain.Connect(point_field)
    op.inputs.reference_domain.Connect(my_mesh)
    op.inputs.exclusive_search.Connect(True)
    op.inputs.tolerance.Connect(15)
    my_search_indices = op.outputs.search_indices.GetData()
    x=op.outputs.reference_indices.GetData()
    print("Node Id is : {0}".format(x.Ids[0]))
    
    

    you can just extend the idea of the VectorField so that it can accommodate all your probe points, and then you can search for all nodes that are in the vicinity of those points.

    once you have the node collection getting a Stress value is not much efforts

Answers

  • LauriK
    LauriK Member Posts: 6
    Name Dropper First Comment

    Is it possible to create these probe labels based on xyz coordinates instead of node number? There seems to be probeLabel.Scoping.XYZ option but I don't know how to create the point.

  • kanchan_cadfem
    kanchan_cadfem Member Posts: 17
    First Anniversary First Comment 5 Likes First Answer
    edited October 2023
    labels_manager = Graphics.LabelManager
    result = Tree.FirstActiveObject
    with Transaction():
        _old = labels_manager.GetObjectLabels(result)
        Graphics.LabelManager.DeleteLabels(_old)
        probe_label = labels_manager.CreateProbeLabel(result)
        point = Ansys.Mechanical.Graphics.Point([0,0,0],'mm')
        probe_label.Scoping.XYZ = point
        probe_label.Note = "NOT OK" 
        probe_label.Color = Ansys.ACT.Common.Graphics.Color(red=240, green=0, blue=0, alpha=25)
    

    @LauriK
    you can use the Graphics Point API

    point = Ansys.Mechanical.Graphics.Point([0,0,0],'mm')
    
  • LauriK
    LauriK Member Posts: 6
    Name Dropper First Comment
    edited October 2023

    What I would like to achieve is, give coordinate inputs to Mechanical, then find a node close which has maximum stress value. Node would probably be really close <5mm to the coordinate given. Do I have to iterate through all nodes of the model to achieve this or is there maybe an easier way?

    My problem is the following: I have a global model for which I have multiple probes put in place in critical locations. When I modify the global model I lose all the probes, even though I have modified only part of the global model. That is why I would like to import probes from previous iteration.

  • ucbol
    ucbol Member Posts: 2
    First Comment

    How do I create an annotation at xyz (without an value)?

  • ucbol
    ucbol Member Posts: 2
    First Comment

    ... and how do I access the option Mechanical->Graphics->"Max Number of Annotations to Show" by python

  • Mike.Thompson
    Mike.Thompson Member, Employee Posts: 241
    First Anniversary First Comment 5 Likes Ansys Employee
    edited October 2023

    @LauriK
    You can get the closest node to any arbitrary location by creating a CS at that location. Once you have this, make a worksheet based named selection with a single line of logic. Select the node with distance smallest from that local CS.
    The benefit of this is when you re-mesh, the NS will regenerate and re-select the closest node, so it will be stable no matter what changes you make.
    In scripting, you then can use the NS.Ids[0] to get the node id of the node in the named selection.

    If for some reason you don't want to do this....
    If you want to find the closest node to a point the most efficient way to do this would be to sort the nodes by X,Y,Z locations. You can then chop of large portions of the data knowing that it is sorted.

    Lastly there is a DPF operator to find closest points (nodes) given a point cloud and list of points. For a single point, I think the Named Selection option is the easiest.